shredded paper

29 07 2010

I’m feeling a little more chipper today.  Thanks for the emails and prayers, guys.  I need to forgive myself more for being a mere human and find the joy in the tiny things.

Like Nola impersonating the sand monster from Dune when I put some lotion on her really itchy snout.  It’s a great visual!

I finally emptied the birds’ nest after they abandoned this most recent clutch.  There were about 15 unhatched eggs in there and it was getting really ridiculous.  As soon as they’d incubate the eggs and realize they were infertile, they’d build another nest on top of the existing nest.

Last time, I had given them some straw and dry grasses from the pet store to use for the nest and they wove it endlessly.  Doves are terrible at making nests so endlessly means that they’d get pissed off at each other and throw the other’s work out of the nest and then spend hours guarding “home base.”  On a whim, I added some thinly shredded card stock and they LOVED it.

This time, instead of the straw I just put in a handful of thinly shredded unbleached paper and they’re having a ball.  They’re still fighting like crazy but it’s easier for them to pick up and manipulate.  I’m trying to avoid them with the camera because they get all freaked out and Pete’s been attacking me with his little beak.  It feels like getting tapped very lightly with a toothpick.  It just pisses him off all the more that it doesn’t bug me at all.

My birds are crazy creatures.  Otherwise they’d really hate living here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

