Brain, dead and/or dying

4 01 2007

I believe the mass output of Excel/Access integration a human being can do at once is approximately 3 hours and 12 minutes.  After that, mass system failure kicks in and one must have a chicken sammich.  Or something.

 This morning has been an overload of writing new spreadsheets and figuring out if I can still use Access to pull the reporting from them without breaking or otherwise smooshing any of the data.  I think I have the layout as good as it’s going to get, but I’m still worried about that silly primary key issue in Access.  I could just use VBA to integrate the two, but then if there’s another network drive change, I’d have to redo three spreadsheets worth of integration. 

Decisions, decisions.  To import or not to import, that is the question.

In other news, I finished reading Haunted by Chuck P-something last night.  It was thoroughly creepy and altogether memorable.  I hate books where monsters kill people, but this one was a horror book about the things people do to one another and themselves.  Totally fabulous.  Formal review coming later…

Next on the reading list is probably A Great and Terrible Beauty.  I’m excited about that one! 

Break over – back to Excel…

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 01 2007
caveblogem

Are you naming the variables in Excel and then using a macro to reassign the names after a network drive change? I only ask because you could screw them all up really quickly that way. I’ve always thought it was a pity that you couldn’t make that kind of trouble in Access, too. With its wonderful automatic saving feature it would be like instant job security, unless someone figured out that you caused the problem in the first place.

4 01 2007
Cyndi

Now that’s something I hadn’t condsidered… and sounds like it would be very dangerous. We haven’t integrated at this level before, but the network drive changes happen about twice a year and I can see it being a hypothetical nightmare. Macros themselves create hypothetical nightmares!

I’m leaning towards an import into an Access table every so often, but that puts more manual work on myself. I may also use Access to run queries directly from the spreadsheets… both have pros and cons, but I’m trying to make this as user friendly as possible. In my experience, if someone can screw something up they probably will. 😛

Leave a Reply

